Posted on

Early 11 for Gold Cup

Lindon Yarde

Social Share

Aristodemus spearheads a record low field of 11 horses with paid-up subscriptions for the 2014 Sandy Lane Gold Cup, the signature event of the Barbados Turf Club.
Subscriptions recently closed for the first nomination of the 33rd running of the prestigous event at the Garrison Savannah.
The field includes two overseas entrants in Trinidad and Tobago Derby winner Bigman In Town, owned by Baskaran Bassawah, and the United States-based Dashing David which is owned by Barbadian owner Sir David Seale.
However, the real surprise of the first nomination is the non-entry of any horses from the powerful Blue Diamond Racing stable which won the 2008 and 2009 Gold Cup with Pure Temptation and Daylight Express, respectively.
One would have expected to have seen last year’s runner-up in the Gold Cup, Daga, and possibly Show Me The Money, being nominated barring injury but neither is in the line-up.
The stable has also failed to subscribe for the first nomination of the Tanglewood Stakes and the Sandy Lane Spa Sprint Stakes, both trophy races that the stable has captured on several occasions.
The remainder of the field is headed by 2009 Triple Crown winner Areutalkintome which also won the 2012 Sandy Lane Spa Sprint; Knight Rider and Kendal Moon, Derby winners in 2013 and 2011; Discretwon, Indian Officer, Jakesam, Giovedi and last year’s Sandy Spa Sprint winner Shared Adventure.
Three Derby winners headline the nomination for the 2 000 metres Tanglewood Stakes: Bigman In Town, Kendal Moon, and Bandera Belle. Complimenting those three are Cinnamon Jane, Zoom, Erados, Galaxy, Janak’s Gold, Open Secret, Roars, Sirius Black, Ucantmeanme and Vitality.
Five horses have paid the subscription along with Shared Adventure to contest the 11th edition of the Sandy Lane Spa Sprint Stakes & Trophy to be run at 1 100 metres.
They are Seattle Sunshine, Vapour Trail, Golden Moment, Lune De Barachois and Decisive David which is owned by Sir David and is based in United States.
Second subscriptions will close on February 7 at 4 p.m.