Posted on

Nelson and Evelyn winners at Inter School Sports

SHERRYLYN CLARKE, [email protected]

Nelson and Evelyn winners at Inter School Sports

Social Share

MISHA NELSON and Tristan Evelyn are the first winners at this year’s Powerade Barbados Secondary Schools’ Athletics Championships.
Nelson won gold in the Under-13 girls’ high jump, while Evelyn was the winner of the Under-17 girls’ long jump this morning at the National Stadium.
Nelson, of Combermere School, cleared 1.40 metres to take the gold. Only three centimetres separated her from Springer Memorial’s Rashanna Gittens and Parkinson Memorial’s Dedra Deane-Mason, who both cleared 1.37 metres.
Springer Memorial’s Evelyn leaped 5.67 metres in the long jump as she began her quest for victrix ludorum honours. Kali Grant of The St Michael School was second with 5.55 metres and Keyla Harewood of Harrison College third with 5.19m, just getting the bronze medal (5.18m) ahead of Ariel Burke of Queen’s College.
The morning’s track session was all about the sprint hurdles.
Among the junior boys’ Hasani Lowe with 11.89 seconds, and Antonio Farrell (12.01) of The Lester Vaughan School are the fastest qualifiers over 80 metres, while Xhane Greenidge (12.93) of The St Michael School and Coleridge and Parry’s Shondelle Harvey (13.32) are tops in the junior girls’ 75m hurdles.
Evelyn has the fastest qualifying time in the Under-17 girls’ 100m hurdles, racing to the finish in 14.99 seconds. Allana Ince of Queen’s college also won her heat and is second overall with 16.32, while Foundation’s Tanya Edey third with 17.70.
Coleridge and Parry’s Sada Williams leads the Under-20 girls with 15.06 seconds. Danielle Scantlebury of The St Michael School is second with 15.35 and Sierra Coward of Springer Memorial third with 16.05.
With 14.66 seconds, Lester Vaughan’s Rivaldo Leacock has the fastest time in the Under-17 boys’ 110m hurdles. Anderson Greaves of Coleridge and Parry is second overall with 15.30 and St Leonard’s Rashad Phillips third with 15.51.
The Lester Vaughan duo of Michael Nicholls (14.89) and Juwan Augustin-Mayers (14.98) lead the Under-20 boys, while Akeim David of The St Michael School third with 15.38 seconds. (SAT)