Posted on

Gill new BKA champ


Gill new BKA champ

Social Share

THE?EXPERIENCED?Nicholas Gill is the new champion driver of the Barbados Karting Association (BKA).
In a season cut short because of the redevelopment at Bushy Park, Gill, competing in the Yamaha 310 Premier Class, amassed 467 points to drive away with the coveted trophy during the awards presentation held on the hillside of the track last Saturday.
Kyle Proverbs and Alex Kirton finished second and third respectively with 396 and 289 points respectively in the same class.
In his remarks, BKA chairman Peter Mayers said the days of inactivity had given the association new life and a sense of eagerness as they looked forward to the opening event of the 2014 season on June 7.
“The inactivity is for a good cause and the sport in general and Barbados in particular, stand to benefit from the development currently place at Bushy Park,” Mayers said.
According to the chairman, sponsors such as Williams Equipment, PreConCo, Crane and Equipment, Surf Shak, D. Blades Trophies and Exotic Blooms along with the marshals all played their part in making the last season a successful one.
“We can’t begin to thank and praise our marshals, without them we would not be here and we also have to also give our thanks to the press for the coverage and satisfaction that they give to exploits of the drivers in all the classes,” Mayers said.
In the first half of last season, two former champion drivers, Tremaine Ford-Catwell and Christian Hinds took the top places in the X30 Class with 181 and 142 points respectively.
They were followed by Javani Smith (125), Aiden Fortier (75) and Owen Yarde (18).
Saviola Thomas won the title in the Yamaha Sportsman Heavy Class with 368 points while another former champion driver, Zane Maloney finished second with 346 points and Joshua Maloney grabbed third spot with 333. Calvin Bartlett (313) and Joshua Parris (248) were fourth and fifth.
During the shortened season, Krystal Kirton was adjudged the Top Female Driver; Tremaine Forde-Catwell returned the fastest lap with a time of 35.036 seconds and won the Exotic Blooms trophy, while Alex Kirton carried off the Sportsman Of The Year title.
Fortier was the association’s Most improved Driver for 2013.