Posted on

Samuels leads team to victory

mialisafenty, [email protected]

Samuels leads team to victory

Social Share

UNBEATEN?RENDEZVOUS?extended their lead in the Banks Division One football competition to four points when they fought off a vibrant challenge from Crompton to emerge 1-0 winners at the Empire Club in Bank Hall on Tuesday night.
The victory, Rendezvous’ sixth of the season, took them to 19 points while Crompton slipped to third position on 14 points, one fewer than second-placed University of the West Indies.
Crompton did very well to contain the energetic and swift attack force of Rendezvous, led by their quartet of Vincentian international attackers – Romano Snagg, Emerald George and the Samuels cousins, Myron and Shandel.
Crompton were patient and confident in their build-ups even though they didn’t create too many opportunities on goal.
Their best chance in the first half fell to Spartan cricketer Jabbar Niles when he headed a free kick by Zinho Harris from the right just inches from the far corner.
Rendezvous resumed the second half in their typical manner with quick passing and sharp movement off the ball in an effort to catch their opponents napping.
But the Crompton defence was well marshalled by the Grosvenor brothers, Rudy and Kelwyn and their supporting cast of Keagan Wade and Yusuf Koya, who protected goalkeeper Greg Jones well.
A moment of misfortune, however caused Crompton a share of the spoils in the 66th minute. A hopeless ball was launched into their penalty area and was apparently handled by substitute Dwayne Cadoo. Referee Eardly Malcolm pointed to the spot.
Myron Samuels confidently stepped up and placed his right foot kick inches inside the right post to give his team what eventually turned out to be the winner.
Earlier, Digicel Premier League clubs, Magnum Tonic Wine Dayrell’s Road and Pharmaceutical Plus Cosmos played to a very dull goalless draw.
The Premiership continues tonight with a double header at Empire. Defending champions Barbados Defence Force play Gall Hill at 7 p.m. and Weymouth Wales oppose Dayrells Road at 9 p.m.