Posted on

15 newcomers in CARIFTA team

SHERRYLYN CLARKE, [email protected]

15 newcomers in CARIFTA team

Social Share

FIFTEEN NEWCOMERS have been named in the 35-member Barbados team for the April 19 to 21 CARIFTA Games in Martinique.
In the Under-18 division, joint victrix ludorum Shonita Brome makes her debut along with Asha Cave, Ashantia Phillips, Sada Williams and a resurgent Jaria Hoyte.
Although the events haven’t been released, Brome has had an excellent season and is expected to compete in the jumps, as will Phillips. Cave will be in the sprints and Williams has qualified in the 200m and 400m.
Hoyte joined the conversation with a very good run in the 400m at Inter-School Sports and also ran very well in the hurdles, albeit at a shorter distance.
The returning athletes are Tristan Evelyn (sprinter), quarter-miler Tiana Bowen, Under-17 javelin medallist Hayley Matthews and multi-eventer Danielle Scantlebury.
Among the Under-18 boys will be jumpers Josiah Beckles and Hakeem Clarke; sprinter Kentoine Gibson and thrower Triston Gibbons.
Middle distance runner Romario Marshall makes his debut this year. His twin brother Akeem, who won a silver medal in the 800 metres last year, is also back.
Overall, the boys’ Under-18 division appears to be quite strong, with sprinter Mario Burke, last year’s Under-17 100 metres champion, heading back to the games stronger and faster.
Not to be overlooked is Rivaldo Leacock, the Inter-School victor ludorum who delivered a jaw-dropping performance in the 400m hurdles last year; hurdlers Michael Nicholls and Juwan Augustin-Mayers and quarter-miler Ramarco Thompson.
There are no newcomers in the Under-20 girls’ division which features multi-talented medallist Akela Jones, World Youth silver medallist Tia-Adana Belle (400m hurdles) and thrower Ashley Williams.
The boys’ Under-20 division is also stacked. Multi-eventer Akeim David; distance runner and crowd favourite Dario Grandison; hurdler Stephen Griffith; half-miler Tre Hinds; thrower Dequan Lovell and jumper Jebarri Cumberbatch are the newcomers on the team.
That group is led by sprinter Levi Cadogan; former triple jump gold medallist Shamar Rock; distance runner Joshua Hunte, thrower Romario Antoine, sprinter Joshua Walcott and former 400m hurdles champion Dario Scantlebury.
Bryan Holder and Maureen Dottin return as head coach and manager, respectively. (SAT)
Under-18 Girls: Shonita Brome, Asha Cave, Tristan Evelyn, Tiana Bowen, Hayley Matthews, Ashantia Phillips, Danielle Scantlebury, Sada Williams, Jaria Hoyte. Under-20 Girls: Akela Jones, Ashley Williams, Tia-Adana Belle.
Under-18 Boys: Josiah Beckles, Akeem Marshall, Romario Marshall, Mario Burke, Michael Nicholls, Juwan Augustin-Mayers, Rivaldo Leacock, Ramarco Thompson, Kentoine Browne, Hakeem Clarke, Triston Gibbons. Under-20 Boys: Romario Antoine, Akeim David, Dario Grandison, Stephen Griffith, Shamar Rock, Tre Hinds, Joshua Hunte, Levi Cadogan, Dequan Lovell, Dario Scantlebury, Joshua Walcott, Jebarri Cumberbatch.
Management: Maureen Dottin (manager), Bryan Holder (head coach), Desiree Crichlow, Ramon Armstrong, Anthony Williams. Medical: Dr Phyllis Burnett, Shonnelle Trotman.