Posted on

Williams is BCA’s MVP

Ezra Stuart

Williams is BCA’s MVP

Social Share

Consistent Republic Bank St Catherine all-rounder Kenroy Williams has been rewarded for his exploits in club cricket even though he didn’t win favour with the Barbados selectors who haven’t picked him for a single first-class match this year.
Williams, 29, copped the inaugural Barbados Cricket Association’s Most Outstanding Cricketer Award for 2013 during the BCA’s annual awards ceremony at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre on Friday night. He received $2 500 and a trophy.
Hard-hitting Barbados and West Indies batter Deandra Dottin was named Most Outstanding Cricketer among the women, earning $1 000 and a trophy. Dottin scored 223 runs with one century in three matches in the 40-over competition.
The only batsman to score over 600 runs, Williams was the top all-rounder in BCA’s LIME Elite division last year.
He amassed the highest aggregate of 608 runs with seven half-centuries at an average of 50.66 and was the fifth highest wicket-taker, bagging 34 scalps with his off-spin bowling at an average of 20.33.
Williams, who captained Barbados in the rain-ruined 2011 One-Day Tournament in Guyana, also scored 207 runs in the Sagicor Twenty20 Competition.
Apart from her exploits with the West Indies’ women’s team, the 22-year-old Dottin scored 350 runs with two centuries, including a highest score of 159 not out, at a marvellous strike rate of 193.37 for Angela Harris Tridents in the BCA’s Iris Walker Twenty20 Tournament.  
LIME’s Ashley Nurse was a double winner, taking the Best All-rounder awards in both the Sagicor T20 and Super Cup competitions.
Nurse scored 253 runs, captured ten wickets and took five catches in the T20, while he made 266 runs, took eight wickets and held five catches in the Super Cup, which his team won, to earn the Garfield Sobers Best All-rounder Award.
Another St Catherine player, the experienced left-arm spinner Derick Bishop, enjoyed another outstanding season.
Bishop, who bats right-handed, was the top wicket-taker in the Elite division with 52 wickets and also weighed in with 315 runs.
He also took 17 wickets, scored 117 runs and held five catches in the Super Cup and bagged 11 wickets in the T20 competition.
Williams, Nurse and Bishop are all products of the Deighton Griffith Secondary School.
CGI Maple won the Elite title while Wanderers won the Division One crown as their captain Kraigg Brathwaite, left-arm spinner Chad Clarke-Reifer and veteran Sean Armstrong had the most runs, wickets and catches respectively.
The Barbados Fire Service won the Sagicor Shield, with their leg-spinner Larando Best (18), opening batsman Athelbert Brathwaite (200) and Theo Barnett (five) winning the Bill Murrell, John Greaves and Rudolph Carrington awards for most wickets, runs and catches, respectively.
Veteran Gregory Gaskin of losing finalists Psychiatric Hospital won the Emmerson Alleyne Award for the wicketkeeper with the most dismissals (four) and the Leon Greaves Best All-rounder award (149 runs). 
Christ Church Foundation won both the Intermediate and Goddard Enterprises Schools’ titles with their fast-bowling all-rounder Jofra Archer being named the Most Improved Youth Cricketer and teammate Jerome Jones gaining the President’s Award from BCA boss Joel Garner.
Spartan’s Akeem Springer was named Most Improved Cricketer (men), while Shanika Bruce of Pat Whittaker Pride got a similar award among the women.
Special appreciation awards were given to retired Sagicor General president and chief executive officer, David Deane and Cave Shepherd’s retired corporate communications manager, Hugh Durant.
After 30 consecutive years, there was no Cave Shepherd Five Cricketers Of The Year Award.