Posted on

Dynamic duo in squash glory

rhondathompson, [email protected]

Dynamic duo in squash glory

Social Share

ANDY GILL and Lynn deCambra-McLeod prevailed to take two of the major titles when the curtain came down on the National Veterans Squash Championships at the Barbados Squash Club with a number of keenly contested matches.
Generally the results went with seeding, although in only two age groups did the top seed emerge victorious after four days of rigorous competition.
In the Women’s Over-40 Open, the top seed and defending champion, deCambra-McLeod, easily defeated No. 2 seed Cilla Seale and Carollyn Last-Johnson in straight games to win this age group event once again.
Seale had earlier defeated Last-Johnson in five close games to finish in second place.
Competition for the men was held in five different age groups and in the Men’s 35-44 age group final, No. 2 seed Andy Gill had to fight all the way to overcome Mark Gilkes in the final 11-8, 11-8, 13-11.
Gilkes had defeated the top seed and former two-time Caribbean Over-40 champion, Mark Sealy, in a pulsating semi-final match.
But Gill won an exciting final contest, marked by long rallies throughout with very few unforced errors from either player in straight games in 35 minutes.
Sealy proved to be too steady for Marlon White in the third place match and won in four games 9-11, 11-2, 11-6, 11-7 after dropping the first. Don Benn easily defeated Leon Truss 11-5, 11-0, 11-5 to win the plate and finish fifth.
In the Men’s +45 age group, No.1 Terry Millar defeated No. 2 seed Sylvester Nurse, 11-3, 11-3, 11-8.
The top two seeds in the Men’s +50 age group were both upset by Andrew Nunes, who defeated them both 3-1 to win this age group for the first time..
No.2 seed Dean Straker defeated the top seed Mickey Armstrong, 9-11, 11-7, 11-3, 11-5 while in the Men’s +55 age group the top seed and defending champion Cliff Nolan was defeated by No. 2 seed Craig Archer in a hard fought final 11-4, 11-5, 10-12, 11-7.
The Men’s +60 age group saw a return to form to the former champion Errol Pilgrim, who impressively defeated all his opponents 3-0 to reclaim the title he relinquished lat year. On the last day, Pilgrim defeated Chester Haynes 11-4, 11-8, 11-8. (PR/EZS)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maximum 1000 characters remaining in your comment.