Posted on

BHTA President’s Awards finalists announced

NATASHA BECKLES, [email protected]

BHTA President’s Awards finalists announced

Social Share

THE BARBADOS HOTEL and Tourism Association (BHTA) has announced the finalists who will vie for the prestigious 2014 President’s Awards this Saturday, May 31 at Bellevue House, Waterford, St Michael at 6:30 p.m.
Hilton Barbados Resort, Little Arches Boutique Hotel and Turtle Beach Resort are contesting the Hotel of the Year (Luxury); Bougainvillea Beach Resort, Sea Breeze Hotel and Ocean Two Resort & Residences, the Hotel of the Year (A Class) and Rockley Plum Tree and All Seasons Resort – Europa, the Hotel of the Year (B Class & Apartments).
Tapas Restaurant, The Camelot (Cobblers Cove) and L’acajou (Sandy Lane Hotel) are in the running for Restaurant of the Year, while Atlantis Submarine and St. James Travel & Tours are for the Tourism Services Member.
Skyviews Inc. and Ticket Pal BB Inc. are vying for the Supporting Services Member award with Atlantis Submarine (Barbados Inc.), Bougainvillea and Accra Beach Hotel & Spa competing for the Green Initiative.
The finalists for Outstanding Employee are Ornan Singh of Ocean Two Resort & Residences, Charisse Mottley of Little Arches Boutique Hotel and Jose Manuel Gay of Bougainvillea Beach Resort.
Eleanor Tull-Browne of Crystal Cove, Dwight Crawford of Bougainvillea Beach Resort, Roland Field of Accra Beach Resort Hotel and Charlotte Moore of Atlantis Submarines are for Outstanding Employee – Supervisor.
Kelly McClean of Sandy Lane, Robert Hinds of Atlantis, Stephanie Mayers of Crystal Cove and Avril Clarke of Bougainvillea Beach Resort are for Outstanding Employee – Manager.
The other awards, Lifetime Achievement, Strategic Partner Appreciation, STEP, Media Relations and Special Commendation – Appreciation, will be announced at the event.
President of the Association, Patricia Affonso-Dass, explained that nominations were open to any person, accommodation property, restaurant, activity/attraction, industry supplier, service provider or supporter of the industry.
“The only criterion was that the nominees must be members of the BHTA and the nominations be for outstanding performance and contribution to the growth, development and sustainability of the tourism industry,” Dass explained.
She added that this year the event, which was the Association’s way of celebrating the industry, from its individuals and businesses who are examples of excellence to local culture and heritage, will also acknowledge the 40th anniversary of the Crop Over festival.
“It will be a celebration from start to finish with guests being greeted on arrival by a carnival display in full swing before being escorted to a cocktail reception where they will experience the first of the evening’s planned culinary delights and a series of specialty cocktails.
Following the presentation of awards guests will be treated to another culinary experience of mouthwatering cuisine from seven buffet stations, including an elaborate dessert selection.
The evening’s entertainment will also include steel pan, tuk band and stilt walkers, with DJ Gerald B and The Old Skool Band featuring John King and Tamara Marshall, live on stage. (PR)