Posted on

Sharapova wins 2nd French Open

SHERRYLYN CLARKE, [email protected]

Sharapova wins 2nd French Open

Social Share

PARIS (AP) – Even though her serve failed her repeatedly, Maria Sharapova is a French Open champion once again.
Sharapova won her second title at Roland Garros in the last three years, overcoming 12 double-faults today to beat fourth-seeded Simona Halep 6-4, 6-7 (5), 6-4 in the final.
“This is the toughest Grand Slam final I’ve ever played,” Sharapova said on court. “Really, this tournament means so much to me. It’s a tournament, when I was young and growing up, I wanted to win.
“To think that I’ve won it two times is, I don’t know; so emotional right now, I can’t even talk.”
Sharapova has struggled with her serve this week and was broken seven times in the final on Court Philippe Chatrier. But she was able to hold off Halep, and hold her serve in the final game, with steady groundstrokes that kept the Romanian on the run.
Halep, who was ranked only 57th heading into last year’s French Open, was playing in her first major final.
“It’s my first Grand Slam speech, so emotionally it’s really difficult for me,” Halep said, addressing the crowd after the match. “But I wish to have many more. But of course this one will be very special for me all my life.”
The men’s final is tomorrow. Rafael Nadal will go for his ninth French Open title against Novak Djokovic.
French Open Champions 2000-2014
2014: Maria Sharapova
2013: Serena Williams
2012: Maria Sharapova
201: Li Na
2010: Francesca Schiavone
2009: Svetlana Kuznetsova
2008: Ana Ivanovic
2007: Justine Henin
2006: Justine Henin-Hardenne
2005: Justine Henin-Hardenne
200: Anastasia Myskina
2003: Justine Henin-Hardenne
2002: Serena Williams
2001: Jennifer Capriati
2000: Mary Pierce