Posted on

Top two for race meet


Top two for race meet

Social Share

TWO?OF?THE?most decorated drivers of the modern era have been named in the Barbados team to take on regional competitors at the Digicel Williams International Race Meet and the opening rounds of the Seaboard Marine Caribbean Motor Racing Championship (CMRC)?at the redeveloped Bushy Park Circuit early next month.
They are Roger “His Hotness” Mayers, CMRC champion in 2011 with five race wins in his Chefette/Digicel/Pennzoil/Illusion Graphics/Hankook Ford Focus and Stuart Williams, who won more than 80 races at the old Bushy Park and will forever hold the outright lap record for the 1.3-kilometre layout.
Williams will be at the wheel of the Williams Equipment/Structural Systems/Alpen Cereals Lotus Elise, and will be joined for the July 5-6 event by Barry Mayers, winner of two CMRC races at Bushy Park in his Chefette/Digicel/Pennzoil/Illusion Graphics/Hankook Suzuki SX4.
The father and son combination of Doug and Mark Maloney will complete the team in the Paints Plus/Maloney Racing Team Audi A4 quattro and Automotive Art/RBC Mazda RX-3, respectively.
Long-term supporters of the CMRC, the Maloneys have rarely missed a qualifying round. Doug finished third in 2008, 2011 and 2013 and Mark was third in 2009.
Organised by the Bushy Park Motor Sport Inc. (BPMSI), the race meet has attracted a record 26 competitors from the region in two- and four-wheel drive cars, along with superbikes from Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago who will also contest the CMRC Group 2 and CMRC Superbike races, as well as local events.
In addition to the CMRC, there will be races
for the BPMSI’s domestic classes, Clubman, Modified Production 1 & 2, Supersport 1 & 2 and SuperModified 1 and a Handicap Race.
The second round of the Barbados Karting Association’s (BKA) 2014 championship will also be staged as more than 30 races will be settled over the two days of racing.
BPMSI secretary Kurk Seabra said the Guyana team includes all of their top drivers. The six-car team is led by Kevin Jeffrey (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII), runner-up in the CMRC in 2010.
The others are Mark Vieira, who will race his Mazda RX-8, Andrew King, who will be paying his seventh visit to Bushy Park in his Mazda RX-7 and Jeffrey’s unheralded son Kristian, who will drive an Evo IX.
Another Guyanese driver, Vishok Persaud, will be competing in Barbados for the first time in his Subaru Impreza STi, while the team’s final CMRC representative Rupie Shewjattan, who has seen action in Barbados, will be at the wheel of an Evo V.
Jamaica will be represented by the reigning CMRC champion Doug Gore, whose Audi TT-R DTM is already in Barbados. The remainder of the Jamaica team is Peter Rae, who finished runner-up and highest-placed 2wd in CMRC 2012 in his turbocharged Mazda RX-7 and is the only regional driver who can boast a 100 per cent finishing record on his previous visits to Barbados.
The Trinidad team is a mixture of youth and experience. Kristian Boodoosingh will campaign in a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6.5 on his Bushy Park debut while Ruddy Beekee, the 2012 Drag & Wind champion, with more than 25 years’ racing experience, previously visited Bushy Park in 2007. He will compete in a Mazda RX-7.
2014-15 Seaboard Marine CMRC
Provisional entry list at June 18 for Round 1 in Barbados.
Team Barbados
28. Roger Mayers – Ford Focus; 29. Barry Mayers – Suzuki SX4; 30. Stuart Williams – Lotus Elise; 33. Doug Maloney – Audi A4 quattro; 86. Mark Maloney – Mazda RX-3.
Team Guyana
11. Andrew King – Mazda RX-7; 38. Vishok Persaud – Subaru Impreza STi; 53. Rupee Shewjattan – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo V; 58. Mark Vieira – Mazda RX-8; 161. Kevin Jeffrey – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VIII; 261. Kristian Jeffrey – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX
Team Jamaica
24. Doug Gore – Audi TT-R DTM; 26. Peter Rae – Mazda RX-7.
Team Trinidad
17. Kristian Boodoosingh – Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 6.5; 55. Ruddy Beekee – Mazda RX-7.