Posted on

11 awards for culinary team

NATASHA BECKLES, [email protected]

11 awards for culinary team

Social Share

THE 2014 BARBADOS Culinary Team returned home with an impressive 11 awards including Team Silver, from the Caribbean Hotel and Tourism Association’s (CHTA) Taste of the Caribbean competition in Miami last week.
In addition to the Caribbean Team of the Year silver medal, the team also won the prestigious Hans Shank Commemorative Award for Most Innovative Menu Utilizing Indigenous Ingredients along with the Best Non-Alcoholic Drink and Best Rum Drink won by bartender Rohan Hackshaw.
Other awards included seven silver medals in Chef of the Year, Pastry Chef of the Year, Bartender of the Year, Best Beef Dish and Cheesecake categories, as well as bronze in the seafood category.
A proud Michelle Smith-Mayers, assistant executive vice-president of the Association, who accompanied the team, noted: “This is a very young team and despite this being the first year in competition at Taste for all the chefs, Team Barbados represented well. To come back home with this number of medals speaks volumes for their performance, individually and collectively.
“It demonstrated that the long months spent in training and preparation really paid off and the team managers, led by chef Creig Greenidge and mixologist Jamaal Bowen must be heartily congratulated for their leadership roles.”
This year’s team included Chef Jason Jospeh, chefs Willis Griffith, Marvin Applewaithe and Antonio Sivers, pastry chefs Keisha Nurse, Katrina Depeiza-Hall and Trenel Ifill, junior chef Trevon Stoute and bartender Hackshaw.
Among the Barbadians lending their support during the five days of competition at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in downtown Miami were former BHTA president Patricia Affonso-Dass, BHTA’s Judy Wilkinson, Barbados Tourism Authority representative in Florida Seymour Bailey, president of the Barbados American Chamber of Commerce Barbara Brathwaite, representatives from team sponsor Hotel Food Supplies chefs Peter Edey and Graham Licorish, as well as the winners of the 2014 Junior Duelling Challenge.
The other teams competing in Taste of the Caribbean 2014 included Jamaica, Puerto Rico, Bahamas, St. Lucia, US Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Bonaire, Suriname and Curacao. (PR)