Posted on

Barbados invited to Expocomer

BEA DOTTIN, [email protected]

Social Share

Barbadian businesses are being given an opportunity to tap into the potentially lucrative export markets.

They are being invited to participate in the first Caribbean Pavilion to be presented at Expocomer, the leading trade show in Central America to be held at the ATLAPA Convention Centre, Panama City, Panama, from March 11 to 14 next year.

Universal Peace Ambassador of Panama (CERCLE) and president and chief executive officer of Panama World Trade & Investment Foundation (PWTIF), Melida Harris-Barrow, a Panamanian with Caribbean ancestry, has been granted the rights by Expocomer to be a promoter/administrator.

This will enable her to “stimulate trade and investment among Caribbean businesses, increase their networking opportunities at Expocomer and also to create a African/Caribbean Pavilion for the first time in the 33-year history of the event”.

“The aim of the meeting, firstly, will be to create synergy between Caribbean people, promote opportunities, increase, improve and support investments among Caribbean countries through strategic networking,” Harris-Barrow said.

“This annual exhibition is the ideal starting point for business persons from more than 30 countries, to explore new business opportunities and introduce new products and services.”

She saw the upcoming event as an opportunity to “actualise her vision of bringing the Caribbean to Central America to network and trade with the world”.

Expocomer is said to be the Central America “brand leader” in its field, and participating countries from the latest event will include Haiti, Nicaragua, Guatemala, Colombia, El Salvador, Puerto Rico, India, United Kingdom, Taiwan, Korea, Italy, Mexico, Peru, and Cuba.

This was in addition to those from Costa Rica, Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Turkey, Unitd States, Trinidad and Tobago.

In addition to participants from Barbados, Caribbean countries represented at the first Caribbean Pavilion was expected to include Aruba, the Bahamas, Curaçao, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Dominica, Barbados, Antigua,

St Lucia, Jamaica, Anguilla, St Martin, Grenada, Jamaica, and the Cayman Islands. (SC/PR)