Posted on

Bushy Park Kidz Zone in works

Trevor Thorpe

Bushy Park Kidz Zone in works

Social Share

Bushy Park is to get a Kidz Zone.

And business development manager of Bushy Park Circuit Inc. (BPCI), Zoe Manning, said the Kidz Zone will be built soon, but in the meantime an entertainment area would be put in place for the kids so that the whole family can have fun when attending the country’s main motor sport facility.

The initiative, she said, would begin this weekend at the BMF clubs’ meet when admission would be free today but on Sunday adults would be changed $10 and kids six years and over, $5.    

“It was also a way for us to inform the public about the ability to bring family size coolers into the facility filled with their food and drinks for the day with the exception of bottles. We started it last Saturday at the St Gabriel’s fair and this gave the kids an opportunity to sit in a real racing car – “the Radical Cars” and have a look and feel and get their picture taken while discussing with the parents all about Bushy Park, upcoming Kidz Karting for all, Suzuki Rocks Challenge and the Race Of Champions and more,” she added.

A number of the drivers shortlisted for the Suzuki Rocks Challenge were present at the school fair. They included Daryl Clarke, Trevor “Electric Micey” Manning, Mark Thompson, Stuart Williams, Geoffrey Ullyett, Philip Moe, Jamal Brathwaite and a team from Simpson Motors.

Zoe Manning wants racing fans to go on the relevant Facebook page and choose their favourite driver to represent us at the Race Of Champions in December as well as to come out and support them in tomorrow’s qualifying event The Suzuki Rocks Challenge at Bushy Park.

From this first Driver Challenge, a select number of drivers will go through to the second stage in a variety of vehicles at the Bushy Park Circuit. The final selection of Team Barbados will be made and announced after the second event.

The Race Of Champions, which has been held for more than 25 years, brings together the world’s greatest drivers from FIA World RallyCross champion Peter Solberg, Lotus Formula 1 driver Romain Grosjean, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner Tom Kristensen, the 2014 Indy500 winner and 2012 IndyCar Ryan Hunter-Reay and V8 Supercar champion Jamie Whincup.

They will battle head-to-head in identical machinery on a unique tarmac track with two parallel lanes linked by a crossover bridge.