Posted on

Bajans beset by worst of times


Bajans beset by worst of times

Social Share

I have found the past four years to have been the most repressive since Independence.

Here is a possible political solution to the problems facing Barbados.

1. The current Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Government is the worst since Independence.

This can be partly explained by the DLP’s loss of David Thompson and Clyde Mascoll. The loss of Wendell McClean and Sir Richard Haynes, after the death of the Right Excellent Errol Barrow, had a similar effect on the DLP Government in the 1990s.

2. The current Barbados Labour Party (BLP) Opposition is the worst since Independence. It has demonstrated a level of internal cannibalism previously unknown in Barbadian politics.

3. This was the situation which caused Barbadians to produce the 2013 General Election result: 16 DLP, 14 BLP. Nearly a tie – a call for a national unity government.

4. A national unity government should be set up.

Freundel Stuart should resign as Prime Minister and Member of Parliament for St Michael South, and be appointed Governor General.

Clyde Mascoll, with the agreement and support of the DLP and BLP, should replace Stuart in St Michael South for this period (2013-2018) only. After this period Mr Mascoll would have to find another constituency to represent.

Owen Arthur should be appointed Prime Minister and Minister of Finance and Economic Development, and Clyde Mascoll co-Minister of Finance and Economic Development.

The other ministers would be:

 Mia Mottley – Tourism, International Transport (Air and Sea) and Innovation;

 Dale Marshall – Attorney General and Home Affairs;

 Michael Lashley – Housing and Lands;

 Stephen Lashley – Youth, Sports, Culture;

 Donville Inniss – Health, Sanitation Services;

 Chris Sinckler – Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade;

 Kerrie Symmonds – Commerce, Industry, International Business, Small Business;

 Ronald Toppin – Transport and Works, Water Authority;

 Robert Morris – Education;

 Chelston Brathwaite – Agriculture and Fisheries.

Additional ministerial responsibilities would be allocated among the 12 ministers.