Posted on

Speeders all to ROC Bushy Park

Trevor Thorpe

Speeders all to ROC Bushy Park

Social Share

Tsunami back flips, combo tricks and huge whips are on a list of manoeuvres of the FMX4Ever freestyle motocross team at next month’s Race Of Champions (ROC) at Bushy Park on December 13 and 14.

The stunt riders will fly far and high over the circuit as they show off their dazzling range of two-wheeled expertise.

The diverse team from all over the world hold four FIM IFMXF World Championship titles, three world records, ten X-Games medals and a Red Bull X-Fighters Championship title.

The world’s greatest drivers from motorsport’s major disciplines, including F1, MotoGP, Le Mans, World Rally, IndyCar, NASCAR, Rallycross, Touring Cars, V8 Supercar and the X-Games, are entered for the event in which they are free to battle head-to-head in identical machinery on a unique track with two parallel lanes linked by a crossover bridge.

Organiser Fredrik Johnsson said they like to pack in the entertainment at the Race Of Champions and this year is no exception for the show, which runs alongside ROC 2014.

“Just like our unique form of racing on a parallel track, the FMX4Ever Show is a rollercoaster of thrills from start to finish. We can guarantee that anyone coming to watch ROC 2014 at the Bushy Park Circuit will not go short of speed, action and noise,” Johnsson added.

British ace Chris Brock, Czech rider Martin Koren, Belgium’s Gilles Dejong and Ives Baekelandt are included in the FMX4Ever Show and are part of a busy programme of entertainment that runs alongside the main event, the Race Of Champions.

“It’s going to be an exciting event and we are all looking forward to the Race Of Champions crowd. It has been a long year of intense training and travelling – and at this point all the guys are riding at their best, so the Barbados fans are in for a special one,” Koren noted. Drivers already announced for the 2014 Race Of Champions are Tom Kristensen, nine-time Le Mans 24 Hours winner, Romain Grosjean, Lotus F1 team driver and reigning ROC champion of champions Ryan Hunter-Reay.

Others include this year’s Indianapolis 500 winner; 2012 IndyCar champion Jamie Whincup; five-time V8 Supercar champion Petter Solberg; 2014 FIA World Rallycross champion; Susie Wolff, development driver for the Williams F1 team; Kurt Busch, 2004 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion; this year’s José-Maria, the LOPEZ FIA World Touring Car champion and Esteban Ocon, the 2014 FIA European F3 champion.