Posted on

Nation shows staff love


Nation shows staff love

Social Share

A day after its huge public 41st birthday affair, the Nation Funathlon, the newspaper company turned its attention to rewarding its loyal staffers.

Top performers from every department at Nation Publishing were acknowledged on Monday, with Deputy Associate Editor David Ashby of the Editorial Department taking the company’s coveted Spirit Of St Mary’s Row Award.

The award, decided upon by the Publisher and Chief Executive Officer, goes to the employee who best exemplifies a spirit of unselfishness, dedication, sacrifice and loyalty that characterised the early days of the newspaper’s beginnings.

From five years of being ever present to 35 years of unbroken service, as well as the friendliest person in the company or those exceeding advertising sales expectation, all were recognised for adding to the NATION’s success in 2014.

Publisher and Chief Executive Officer Vivian-Anne Gittens told staff of plans for the new year while thanking employees for their dedication. She and Group Financial Controller Noel Wood were the main presenters of prizes.

In the 35-year service category, Advertising Supervisor-Production Veetland Smith, Circulation Manager Edmund Holder and Senior Reporter Mike King received awards, while Mitchell Williams of Circulation and O’Neal Yearwood of Production received the 30-year award.

Marilyn Alleyne and Seannetta Roberts from Advertising, Maria Bradshaw and Sanka Price of Editorial, Michelle Lawrence of Imageworx and Huldah Boucher of production received the 25-year award. The special investigative journalism prize, the Al Gilkes Award, also went to Bradshaw while Price was voted the Key Employee in the production/editorial category and Lawrence in the non-production/editorial section.

Charles Selman of Accounts, Sheridan Hinds of Advertising, Haydn Gill of Editorial and Anthony Trotman of Production picked up their 20-year awards.

Joycelyn Johnson topped in the retail advertising sales and Marcelle Trotman in the classified sales division.

Distributor Patrick Harewood was awarded for outstanding service in the area. (AC)