Posted on

Prizes for BWU netballers


Prizes for BWU netballers

Social Share

It was a special occasion for the netball fraternity earlier this month when the awards ceremony for the 35th anniversary Barbados Workers’ Union (BWU) Netball Tournament was held at Solidarity House.

There were four overall champions, with the youthful St Philip-based Unity Ballers winning the Orlando “Gabby” Scott Zone, and Brittons Hill Combined, with national captain Latonia Blackman spearheading their attack and Faye Sealy marshalling the defence, taking the Roy Trotman Zone.

Smith’s Academy of Sports, under the guidance of teacher Jennifer Smith, emerged overall Ulric Sealy Zone queens as did Linda Brooks Zone winners, Brydens.

Margaret Spooner and Stephian Shepherd were declared Most Valuable Players of the finals. Spooner represented Brydens while Shepherd played for Smith’s Academy of Sports. (EZS)

Please read the full story in today’s Saturday Sun, or in the eNATION edition.