Posted on

Cricket World Cup: Wins for India, South Africa


Cricket World Cup: Wins for India, South Africa

Social Share

ADELAIDE, Australia (AP) – Another match, another easy win for one opponent over another at the Cricket World Cup.

Defending champions India extended their winning streak over regional rival Pakistan to six matches at the World Cup with a lopsided 76-run victory Sunday at the Adelaide Oval.

For Pakistan, it was another major disappointment at the showpiece event for the One-Day version of the game.

The Indian innings was led by Virat Kohli, who scored 107 to guide his team to 300 for seven. In the process, he became the first Indian batsman to score a century against Pakistan at the World

Pakistan were all out for 224 in reply, slumping badly after losing three quick wickets in the middle overs.

“It’s probably one of the biggest I’ve had in my career so far,” Kohli said of the importance of his innings. “Amazing way for us to kick off the World Cup. It’s a high-pressure game. Good to get that win under the belt.”

The first World Cup meeting between the fierce rivals was in 1992 – the last time the tournament was co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand – and India have continued their winning sequence in head-to-head World Cup matches since then.

“Yes, we’re proud of what we’ve done,” India captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni said. “The record is good, but it’s something I don’t want to get into – there’ll come a time when we lose, irrespective of it’s this World Cup, next. It’s not something that will stay,” forever.

Below: South Africa’s Jean-Paul Duminy (right), celebrates his century with teammate David Miller against Zimbabwe during their Cricket World Cup pool B match at Hamilton, New Zealand.


Earlier Sunday in Hamilton, New Zealand, a record-breaking partnership of 256 between David Miller and J.P. Duminy led South Africa to a 62-run win over Zimbabwe.

The Proteas scored 339 for four, led by Miller’s fast-paced innings of 138 off 92 balls, which included 30 runs off one over and a World Cup record nine sixes. Duminy added an unbeaten 115.

Zimbabwe began their chase well, but were all out for 277. Hamilton Masakadza scored 80 and combined with Chamu Chibhabha (64) in a 105-run stand to give Zimbabwe a chance, before South Africa spinner Imran Tahir (3-36) stifled the run chase.

In the only match Monday, the West Indies will play Ireland at Nelson, New Zealand.

Captain William Porterfield has played in all three of Ireland’s World Cup campaigns and says that no one is likely to underestimate their ability to beat top eight teams.

The left-handed batsman was a member of Ireland teams that beat fourth-ranked Pakistan at the 2007 World Cup and England at the 2011 tournament and he says if Ireland were to beat the West Indies “I don’t think it will be a surprise. We’ve played enough cricket. There are not many teams that won’t know much about the 15 lads who are in our squad”.

Ireland beat Bangladesh in their final warmup match in Sydney while the West Indies lineup was fully stretched to beat Scotland by three runs.

The six-week tournament features 42 pool matches which will reduce the event from 14 teams to eight, then just seven more games which will whittle those eight teams to two for the March 29 final at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

On the opening day Saturday, four-time champion Australia beat England by 111 runs and co-host New Zealand defeated 1996 champion Sri Lanka by 98 runs.

Summarised scores:

India 300-7 in 50 overs (Virat Kohli 107, Suresh Raina 74, Shikhar Dhawan 73. M.S. Dhoni 18, Rohit Sharma 13; Sohail Khan 5-55). Pakistan 224 in 47 overs (Misbah-ul-Haq 76, Ahmed Shehzad 47, Haris Sohail 36, Shahid Afridi 22, Yasir Shah 13; Mohammed Shami 4-35, Mohit Sharma 2-35, Umesh Yadav 2-50). India won by 76 runs.

South Africa 339-4 in 50 overs (David Miller 138 not out, JP Duminy 115 not). Zimbabwe 227 in 48.2 overs (Hamilton Masakadza 80, Chamu Chibhabha 64, Brendon Taylor 40, Solomon Mire 27, Craig Ervine 13; Imran Tahir 3-36, Vernon Philander 2-30, Morne Morkel 2-49). South Africa won by 62 runs.