Posted on

Scores attend opening of St Kitts Parliament


Scores attend opening of St Kitts Parliament

Social Share

BASSETERRE – Scores of spectators assembled outside of Government Headquarters while dignitaries filed into the National Assembly Chambers on Thursday to witness the opening of the Federal Parliament of St Kitts and Nevis.

A guard of honour comprising units from the St Kitts-Nevis Defence Force, Coast Guard Unit and Royal St Christopher and Nevis Police Force were on hand to welcome the new Prime Minister Dr Timothy Harris and other members of the Government of National Unity as they entered the parliament for the first time as the elected government.

After the customary protocol, the first order of business saw the nomination and election of Franklin Brand as the Speaker of the National Assembly. This was followed by the nomination and election of Senator Michael Perkins as Deputy Speaker. Members of Parliament then took the Oath of Allegiance. 

After the members were sworn in, the Governor General’s Deputy Samuel Weymoth Tapley Seaton read the throne speech outlining the key priorities and programmes of the government for the next five years.

Many of the persons who gathered outside of Government Headquarters cheered the members of parliament and were enthusiastic to witness the proceedings. (PR)