Posted on

Jason Holder is Sports Personality of the Year

HAYDN GILL, [email protected]

Jason Holder is Sports Personality of the Year

Social Share

WEST INDIES CRICKET CAPTAIN Jason Holder is the National Sports Council’s Sports Personality of the Year for 2015.

Holder was announced as the winner of the top award during the NSC’s 33rd annual national sports awards ceremony at the Frank Collymore Hall on Saturday night. He was also named senior outstanding sportsperson (male)

The other nominees in the category were multi-eventer Akela Jones, hurdler Rivaldo Leacock and quarter-miler Sada Williams.

Jones was named senior outstanding sportsperson (female), while Leacock and Williams won in the respective junior categories.

Holder is currently in Trinidad and Tobago representing Barbados in the NAGICO Super50 Cricket Competition and his mother Denise accepted on his behalf.

Jones has returned to competition at Kansas State University where she has already started breaking records for the Indoor season. (HG)

NSC Honour Roll

Community Awards: Mark Gittens/Jeffrey Layne                     

Groundsman of the Year: David Moore 

School’s Award: Blackman and Gollop (Primary); Combermere (Secondary)

Youth Awards: Dashonta Addison (Volleyball); Nkosi Dunwoody (Swimming); Zane Maloney (Motor Sport); Leigh Sandiford (Chess); Ashley Weekes (Swimming)

Wesley Worrell Award: Tyson Browne (Athletics-Special Olympian)

Special Awards:  McArthur Barrow, Dale Clarke, Philip Garner, Mark Griffith, Kim Holder (Road Tennis); Suzanne Belle, Leslay Prescod (Cricket); Special Olympics Team

Family Award: The Marshall Family        

Seniors Award: Brenda Farley (athletics), Sir Charles Williams (Polo) 

Lifetime Award: Tony Cozier, Sir Austin Sea

Official Gaining International Recognition: Tonia Deane (Football)/ Shirley Garnes (Body Building & Fitness)

Sports Tourism Award: Barbados Turf Club

Sponsors Award: Barbados Dairy Industries Ltd., Barbados Ice Company Ltd. (BICO),          Barbados Lumber Company, Barbados Yellow Pages, Guardian General Group, Massy United Insurance

Media Award: Corey Greaves, Shawn Greene, Justin Marville, Barry Wilkinson       

Federation Award: Barbados Bridge League/Barbados Volleyball Association

Club Award: U W I Blackbirds (Cricket Team)                                      

Team Award: Barbados Women’s Hockey Team

The Alvin Burgess Award – Sports Administrator:  Rohan Waithe, Barbados Chess Federation

Coach of the Year: Floyd Reifer (Cricket)

Association Achievements Award: Athletics Association of Barbados         

Emerging Athlete Award: Kemar Brathwaite (Cricket)/Kiana Marshall (Tennis)

Junior Outstanding Sportsperson – Female: Sada Williams (athletics)

Junior Outstanding Sportsperson – Male: Rivaldo Leacock   (Athletics)

Senior Outstanding Sportsperson – Female: Akela Jones      (Athletics)

Senior Outstanding Sportsperson – Male: Jason Holder (Cricket)

Minister’s Award: Mary Fraser                                                                

Nationality Sports Personality: Jason Holder (Cricket)