Posted on

Hypasounds in Soca Monarch finals

NATANGA SMITH, [email protected]

Hypasounds in Soca Monarch finals

Social Share

HYPASOUNDS is the lone Bajan to make it through to the finals of the International Soca Monarch Competition.

The first-timer was overwhelmed at the news which was just announced live on radio in Trinidad and Tobago.

He was one of five in the competition along with King Bubba FM, iWeb, Peter Ram and Biggie Irie.

Hypasounds sang his 2015 Crop Over hit How She Like It.

“It is one of the greatest feelings ever to be able to take this passion that I have for music and showcase it to the world,” he said in an interview.

“I think where I came from to where I am right now, everything is a great feeling. Every bit is a great achievement.”

He is looking forward to the finals which will be staged on Fantastic Friday, February 5.

Peter Ram is among four wildcards with All Ah We. There are 17 finalists announced going up against defending monarch Olatunji Yearwood, and two more spots will be filled via wildcard. Those slots will be decided via public voting. (NS)



1. Aaron St Louis – Voice

2 . Adrian Hackshaw – Third Bass

3. Akeem Chance – Preedy

4. Akil Borneo – 5 Star Akil

5. Damian Etienne – Hypasounds

6. Darryl Henry – Farmer Nappy

7. Devon Martin – Lyrikal

8. Dexter Stewart – Blaxx

9. Jason,Prince, Shaquill, Kevin / Phillip, Andrews, Jones, Cudjoe – Cloud 5

10. Nesta Boxill – Sekon Sta

11. Patrice Roberts – Patrice Roberts

12. Ricardo Barriteau – Ricardo Drue

13. Ronny Boyce – Pternsky

14. Samraj Jaimungal – Rikki Jai

15. Shurwayne Winchester – Shurwayne Winchester

16. Stephenson Marshall – Shal Marshall

17. Teddyson John – Teddyson John

18. Olatunji Yearwood – Ola (Defending Monarch)

Wild Cards

1. Kernal Roberts – Kernal Roberts

2. Peter Wiggins – Peter Ram

3. Sherwin Jeremiah – M1 Aka Mennace

4. Terrin Callender – Jaiga