Posted on

WICB calls out big guns for World T20


WICB calls out big guns for World T20

Social Share

ST JOHN’S – Darren Sammy will lead a strong West Indies team to this year’s International Cricket Council’s World T20 Tournament in India.

The 32-year-old allrounder was named to captain as the West Indies Cricket Board announced the 15 players on Friday.

The squad includes 11 members of the championship-winning team from 2012, including Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine and Dwayne Bravo. 

On that occasion West Indies beat Sri Lanka at the R Premadasa Stadium to win the title, with Sammy at the helm.

The Windies are ranked Number One on the ICC Twenty20 table. The squad will assemble in the United Arab Emirates for a camp from February 22 to March 6.

They will then travel to Kolkata on March 7 ahead of the tournament. The official warm-up matches will be on Thursday, March 10, and Sunday, March 13.

West Indies have been drawn in Group 1 of the Super 10 stage where they will play alongside England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and one of the qualifiers from the first round.

Full Squad: Darren Sammy (Captain), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor

Full Match Schedule

Warm-up matches

Thursday, March 10: vs India – Eden Garden, Kolkata

Sunday, March 13: vs Australia – Eden Garden, Kolkata

Super 10

Group 1 matches

Wednesday, March 16: vs England – Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai

Sunday, March 20: vs Sri Lanka – M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore

Friday, March 25: vs South Africa – Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur

Sunday, March 27: vs Qualifier 1B – Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur (PR)