Posted on

Six in NAPSAC Hall of Fame

Petra Gooding, [email protected]

Six in NAPSAC Hall of Fame

Social Share

AKELA JONES was one of six athletes who inducted into the National Primary Schools Athletics Championships (NAPSAC) Hall of Fame today.

Jones, who just this past weekend won the NCAA Division 1 high jump title, got her start in athletics while competing in NAPSAC for the Hilda Skeene Primary School.

She went on to achieve great things with the Springer Memorial School, including winning numerous CARIFTA gold medals and the long jump title at the 2014 IAAF World Junior Championships.

Mario Burke, formerly of Wilkie Cumberbatch and Harrison College was another athlete who was inducted today. Burke is still the NAPSAC record holder in the Under-13 Boys’ 400 metrez after running 58.75 seconds in 2008.

Sprinters Tristan Evelyn and Burkheart Ellis Jr and, hurdlers Tia-Adana Belle and Rivaldo Leacock were also inducted into the Hall of Fame.


Evelyn attended Mount Tabor Primary and Springer Memorial; Ellis went to Roland Edwards Primary and Ellerslie Secondary and Belle attended Ellerton Primary and Christ Church Foundation. All of them are now overseas competing or on scholarship.

Leacock attended St Stephen’s, winners of this year’s boys’ championships. He attended The Lester Vaughan School and is in Sixth Form at Foundation School. (PG/SAT)