Posted on

Finalists announced in monument design competition

GERCINE CARTER, [email protected]

Finalists announced in monument design competition

Social Share

FIVE FINALISTS have been selected in the short list of competitors for the design of the Barbados at Fifty Monument to be built to commemorate 50 years of independence.

The winning design will eventually be chosen from the submissions of 22-year-old artist Taisha Carrington, construction executive Vincent Jones collaborating with architect Hugh Holder, fine artist Jason Hope, architect Selwyn Small and architect Kevin Talma collaborating with metal sculptor John Burgess.

Their entries were this morning selected from a total of 48, during a ceremony at the headquarters of the Barbados Defence Force.

Chairman of the 50th Anniversary Monument Committee Steve Devonish said the quality of entries were an indication of Barbadians’ design abilities and also showed the spirit of creativity was “very much alive”.

Devonish also said the level of participation showcased the promise of young Barbadians in the area of architectural design.

In recognition of the youth input, 17-year-old Harrison College student Antonio Howell, Jerome Brathwaite, Carrington, Akila Jordan-Watson, Nicolette Licorish and Doreen Edwards were presented with awards as winners in the Seeds of the Future category. (GC)