Posted on

Australia win BallR Cup


Australia win BallR Cup

Social Share

AUSTRALIA DEFEATED West Indies by 58 runs Sunday night at Kensington Oval to win the BallR Cup Tri-Nation series.

Winning the toss and batting first, Australia reached a surprising 270 for nine off their 50 overs, thanks to a Matthew Wade half-century which led a late-innings charge.

In contrast, West Indies were bowled out for 212 with Player-of-the-Series Josh Hazelwood taking five for 50.

South Africa also took part in the series but were eliminated by West Indies. (BN)

Summarised scores:

Australia 270-0 in 50 overs (Matthew Wade 57, Aaron Finch 47, Steve Smith 46, Mitchell Marsh 32, George Bailey 22, Mitchell Starc 17, Nathan Coulter-Nile 15, Usman Khawaja 14; Jason Holder 2-51, Shannon Gabriel 2-58). West Indies 212 in 45.4 overs (Johnson Charles 45, Denesh Ramdin 40, Jason Holder 34, Sunil Narine 23, Kieron Pollard 20, Carlos Brathwaite 14; Josh Hazlewood 5-50, Mitchell Marsh 3-32). Australia won by 58 runs.