Posted on

ICC announces enhanced prize money


ICC announces enhanced prize money

Social Share

THE EIGHT TOP TEAMS of the world will be vying for a winner’s prize of US$660 000 in the ICC Women’s World Cup 2017, which will be held in the United Kingdom from 24 June to 23 July.

In line with the ICC’s strategy of enhancing the stature of women’s cricket, the ICC had earlier in May announced that the total prize money for the tournament would be US$2 million, ten times of the amount at stake in the 2013 edition.

The prize money filters down the ladder with the runner-up winning US$330 000 and the losing semi-finalists getting $165 000 each. Teams exiting at the group stage will get US$30 000 each while each win in the group stage will earn a side US$20 000.

Meanwhile, the teams will get to tune up for the tournament with the warm-up matches which begin on June 19, with host England taking on Sri Lanka in Chesterfield and India playing New Zealand in Derbyshire. (PR)

Practice match schedule: 

June 19: New Zealand v India in Derbyshire; England v Sri Lanka in Chesterfield.

June 20: West Indies v Pakistan in Leicestershire; Australia v South Africa in Oakham.

June 21: England v New Zealand in Derbyshire; India v Sri Lanka in Chesterfield.

June 22: Australia v Pakistan in Leicestershire; West Indies v South Africa in Oakham.