Posted on

3 Sirs

RANDY BENNETT, [email protected]

3 Sirs

Social Share

A onetime fearsome fast bowler, a former Government minister and a publisher have been awarded the country’s highest honour in this year’s Independence Honours List.

Charles Christopher Griffith, Warwick Franklin and Anthony Theophilus Bryan are the newest Sirs, after the Knight of St Andrew was bestowed on them in honour of Barbados’ 51st Independence Day celebrations.

Bryan, the publisher of the Barbados Advocate, was rewarded for his outstanding contribution to publishing, broadcasting and business.

Speaking to the DAILY NATION, he said he thought he was dreaming when he was initially told he had been awarded a knighthood. However, that dream ended up being an unexpected, yet welcome surprise. (RB)

Please read the full story in today’s Daily Nation, or in the eNATION edition. 

Click here for the full list of this year’s honourees.