Posted on

Pacer secures win with a six

EZRA STUART, [email protected]

Pacer secures win with a six

Social Share

A massive six by Barbados Under-19 fast bowler Raniel Smith off the last ball from part-time bowler Jafari Toppin gave Christ Church Dolphins a thrilling three-wicket victory over St Philip Sharks in the University of the West Indies/Barbados Cricket Association Inter Parish Twenty20 Cricket Tournament at the 3Ws Oval on Thursday night.

Chasing St Philip’s challenging total of 162 for nine, which was built around Zachary McCaskie’s 72 off 48 balls, Christ Church needed seven runs off what should have been the last ball of an over which started with 18 runs required for victory.

But Toppin, who had been struck for another six by Smith (13 not out) two balls earlier, inexplicably delivered a wide to give the batsman the chance to clear the long-off boundary and take his team to a wining total of 163 for seven.

In other matches, St Michael Merchants thrashed St Andrew by seven wickets on Tuesday night, while the St Lucy Pirates defeated St John Cruaders by four wickets on Wednesday night. A four-wicket haul from left-arm spinner Mario Boyce and skipper Larry Babb’s quickfire 41 not out off 25 balls, with five sixes and two fours, carried the Pirates to victory. 

Summarised scores:

Tuesday, December 12

St Andrew Rhythm 103-7 in 20 overs (Jamaine Bullen 26, Akeem Jordan 23, Carleon Broome 21, Romario Greaves 17; Dane Currency 2-16, Joshua Drakes 2-20). St Michael Merchants 104-3 in 14 overs (Jameel Stuart 34 n.o., Craig St Hill 28 n.o., Rashidi Boucher 16, JaiBari Jarde 13, Shakib Kellman 10; Steve Pinder 2-14). St Michael won by seven wickets. 

Wednesday, December 13

St John Crusaders 101-9 in 20 overs (Ulric Batson 29, Jade Padmore 17, Vonrick Nurse 15, Shamar Cooke 13, Adeko Collymore 10 n.o.; Mario Boyce 4-23, Dario Cummins 3-19). St Lucy Pirates 102-6 in in 17 overs (Larry Babb 41 n.o., Marrodon Bend 25, Mario Albert 10; Shamar Cooke 2-9, Adeko Collymore 2-15). St Lucy won by six wickets.

Thursday, December 14

St Philip Sharks 162-9 in 20 overs (Zachary McCaskie 72, Shian Brathwaite 22, Dwayne Skeete 15, Matthew Jones 13 n.o.; Orion Seale 2-15, Amal Nurse 2-24, Jared Gilkes 2-31). Christ Church Dolphins 163-7 in 20 overs (Shaquille Williams 32, Craig Holder 31, Amal Nurse 30, Jared Gilkes 23, Raniel Smith 13 n.o., Marvin Forde 12; Alcindo Holder 3-23, Matthew Jones 2-27). Christ Church won by three wickets. (EZS)