Posted on

Marshall is Junior tennis champ

JUSTIN MARVILLE, [email protected]

Marshall is Junior tennis champ

Social Share

Kaipo Marshall looks ready and raring to go.

The men’s national champ had the perfect warm-up for yesterday’s start to the Top 8 Invitational by winning Saturday’s Under-18 singles final of the C.O. Williams Junior Tennis Tournament.

Playing at the National Tennis Centre, the 15-year-old Marshall avoided some nervous moments in the middle before prevailing 6-1, 2-6, 6-3 over the more seasoned Robert Hayden.

Marshall actually broke for 2-0 in the third and decisive set before Hayden broke back and held for 2-2 to set up what seemed to be a third-set thriller.

However, Marshall took control from there, holding for 3-2 before breaking Hayden again and consolidating that lead for 5-2.

Hayden forced the talented teen to serve out the match, but Marshall did so comfortably under the broiling morning sun.

It was a match that Marshall looked certain of winning comfortably after breaking twice early for a quick 4-1 when Hayden continually dumped forehands in the net.

Marshall saved three straight break points in his ensuing service game, including one off an unbelievable behind-the-back half volley that allowed him to go up 5-1. He then promptly closed out the set when Hayden missed three successive routine forehands.

But Marshall too couldn’t find the range on his forehand and Hayden produced a brilliant drop shot to break at the start of the second set.

Hayden had to save two break points but still managed to consolidate for 2-0.

Marshall had his chances to get back in the set, though, breaking Hayden to level the set at 2-2 only to lose serve again in the next game.

Hayden promptly held and broken again before serving out the set at 6-2 to force the decider.

Hannah Chambers won both the Under-18 and Under-18 girls’ singles titles while Alesha Alleyne outlasted Chloe Weekes in a three-set affair to take home the Under-14 crown.

Stephen Slocombe downed Kyle Griffith in the boys’ Under-16 equivalent while Adam King beat Xavier Peter-Gooding in both the Under-14 and Under-12 championship matches.

Neil King prevailed as the Under-10 champ by defeating William Mackenzie. (JM)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Maximum 1000 characters remaining in your comment.