Posted on

All Saints sweep

EZRA STUART, [email protected]

All Saints sweep

Social Share

The Saints just keep running away with both titles in the Anton Norris Zone of the National Primary Schools Athletics Championships.

The All Saints girls romped to their fifth consecutive crown and the boys sped to their fourth straight title as the St Peter school celebrated a fourth successive double crown glory at the Usain Bolt Sports Complex yesterday.

The girls amassed 189 points, 45 more than second-placed Cuthbert Moore (144), while the boys blew away St Jude’s by winning three of the four relays en route to a final total of 190.5 points.

St Jude’s, who forced All Saints to settle for the runners-up spot in the sprint medley relay with their quartet of twin brothers Shavari and Shamari Greenidge-Lewis, Tarell Johnson-Rouse and Javon Alleyne, finished second on 139 points.    

It was a team effort from both All Saints’ boys and girls as they didn’t have an individual champion in any of the age groups.

But Trinity Bishop and Chrisady Hope-Johnson stood out among the Under-9 Girls while the Under-13 quartet of Kala Benn, Sienna Boyce, Destany Doughlin and Shanae Lopez performed commendably.

A DaCosta Edwards’ Kydaisha Worrell swept the Under-9 Girls’ 80 (12.50), 100 (15.94) and 150 (24.61) races to be crowned victrix ludorum with 30 points.

Bishop had the satisfaction of setting a new long jump record of 3.13 metres and was second and third in the 80 and 100 with Hope-Johnson second in the 100 and third in the 80.

The victor ludorum was Gordon Greenidge’s Maikai Brathwaite, who also triumphed in the 80 (12.20), 100 (15.41) and 150 (23.60) among the Under-9 Boys’ for a maximum 30 points.

Nine zone records were broken, with St Jude’s Akila Harewood running a sizzling 1:08.12 minutes to set a new mark in the Under-13 Girls’ 400 metres, fractionally faster than schoolmate Javon Alleyne, who won the Under-13 Boys’ 400 in 1:08.13 minutes.

But Cuthbert Moore’s Chrisaria Ballantyne, who was second to Harewood in the 400, got bragging rights with the sprint double in the 100 (13.51) and 200 (28.50) metres.

Harewood (14.02) was second in the 100 and schoolmate Keanna Smith-White (14.24) third in both the 100 and 400, but second in the 200 with Harewood third.

Ballantyne’s 100 time was also faster than Belmont’s Jacobi Marshall’s winning effort of 13.83 in the Under-13 Boys’ 100.

Hillaby Turners Hall’s Keshaun King (28.41) was the Under-13 Boys’ 200 champion. 

There was a keen battle among the Under-11 Girls between Hillaby Turners Hall’s Aniya Nurse and Gordon Walters’ Avielle Small.

Nurse sped to victory in the Under-11 Girls’ 300 metres in 47.12 seconds. She also prevailed in the 200 metres in 30.64 seconds from Small, who had won her heat in 30.80 seconds.

But Nurse (14.63) had to settle for second in the 100 metres, which was won by Belmont’s Jakaria Jones-Smith (14.62), with Small, who had earlier won the long jump with a leap of 3.47 metres, third in 14.84.

Gordon Walters’ Kaydia Prescott set a new record of 1.46 metres in the Under-7 Girls’ standing broad jump. She was also the fastest Under-7 girl, winning the 50 metres in 9.40 seconds.

St Lucy’s Shayla Clarke set a new mark of 1.29 metres in the Open Girls’ high jump with schoolmate Tori Benn (1.26), who was second, also surpassed Asha Collymore’s old mark of 1.25 metres.

Clarke also leapt 3.91 metres for victory in the Under-13 Girls’ long jump, while St Martin’s Mangrove’s Amille Bailey established a new mark of 3.30 metres in the Under-9 Boys’ long jump.

Blackman and Gollop’s Aria Weekes hurled the cricket ball to a new record of 40.74 metres while winning the Under-11 Girls’ cricket ball throw.

Cuthbert Moore’s quartet of Tamia Taitt, Kayla Burgess, Smith-White and Ballantyne had the distinction of establishing records in both the Girls’ Open 800 sprint medley (2:09.54 minutes) and Under-13 Girls’ 4×100 (56.30 seconds) metres relays. (EZS)