Posted on

Four more qualify for Carifta


Four more qualify for Carifta

Social Share

The glory of winning went to senior athletes Nicholas Deshong and Fabian Norgrove but finishing strongly was critical in four more juniors qualifying for next month’s CARIFTA Games in the Bahamas.

Double gold medallist Rasheeme Griffith and Nathan Fergusson made the CARIFTA standard in the Under-20 division after placing second and third, respectively, in the senior men’s 400-metre hurdles on Sunday’s final day of the Louis Lynch Championships at the National Stadium on Sunday.

Griffith clocked 51.32 seconds and Fergusson did 52.04, as they trailed home the evergreen Norgrove, who did a time of 51.10.

Sprinters Matthew Clarke and Kuron Griffith also qualified for CARIFTA while finishing third and fourth, respectively, as Deshong made up for missing out on a podium finish in the 400 metres with a superb triumph in the 200 metres.

Deshong led the pack home after bright starts from Joshua Walcott and Clarke, who was looking for a qualifying mark.

Turned out that Quantum Leap’s Deshong was smoother and stronger in the last 50 metres and was a deserving winner. He clocked 20.92 seconds, ahead of the 100 metres king Joshua Walcott, who ran 21.13 seconds.

Clarke posted 21.16 seconds and former Alleyne School six-footer Griffith, racing in the UWI Blackbirds colours, clocked a personal best 21.24 to finish inside the CARIFTA benchmark of 21.40 seconds.

Predictably Sada Williams easily won the women’s race in a time of 23.27 seconds after taking control coming into the curve from second-placed Elite Distance colleague Ashlee Lowe, who seems to be gradually regaining top form. She finished in 24.53 seconds outside the CARIFTA standard of 24.00 seconds. Shemia Odaine of Rising Stars was third in 25.22 seconds.

Leilani Haddock was the Under-17 double-crown sprint queen by taking the 200 metres in 25.09 seconds. She won the 100 metres on the first day. The versatile Sarah Belle placed second (25.17 seconds) and Deandra Foster was third (25.30 seconds).

Jean-Pierre Hinds of UWI Blackbirds brushed aside the challenge of his opponents in the Under-17 Boys division. He sprinted clear of Daquan Clarke of Elite Distance in the winning time of 22.57 seconds after winning his heat in 22.41 seconds.

The Under-13 Girls’ race was taken by crowd favourite Skye Spencer-Layne, who motored down the track in 26.95 seconds just a fraction outside of the record of 26.94 seconds set by Brianna Boyce last year.

Nya Browne of Pegasus sparked in the Girls’ Under-15 as she posted 25.43 seconds.

The irrepressible Jonathan Jones duly won the senior 800 metres in a time of 1:50.87. He was followed home, inside the CARIFTA requirement of 1.55 minutes by Ronaldo Rock (1:53.83) and Tafari Bishop (1:55.02). All three have made the mark for CARIFTA.

Nathan Goddard-McCarthy (2:01.29) won the Under-17 Boys’ 800 but missed the CARIFTA mark of 1:57.50 minutes

Strongman Triston Gibbons qualified again in the shot put (18.43 metres). He has already made the mark in the discus. (AT)