Posted on

Brathwaite to captain Windies for Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge


Brathwaite to captain Windies for Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge

Social Share

ST JOHN’S – Carlos Brathwaite returns to captain the Windies in the Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge against the ICC Rest of the World XI at Lord’s Cricket Ground, London, on Thursday, May 31. 

This charity match is being staged with the support of the MCC, ECB and ICC to raise funds to rebuild and restore five major cricket venues at the heart of Caribbean communities that were damaged by Hurricanes Irma and Maria. 

All-rounder Andre Russell, returns to the Windies T20 squad following his return to cricket during the Super50 Cup and the IPL.  Openers Evin Lewis and Chris Gayle also return to the squad following the Pakistan Series along with spinner Ashley Nurse. 

“We welcome the return of the players who missed the Pakistan Series and are delighted to recall Andre Russell to the squad, as we believe he will have a key role in our white ball cricket. Denesh Ramdin and Keemo Paul keep their places after encouraging performances at both regional and international level,” said chairman of selectors, Courtney Browne. 

CWI’s CEO, Johnny Grave said, “On behalf of CWI, I’d like to thank the players for their commitment to and support of this vital cause.  We’re hoping to raise a significant sum from the Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge and are very grateful to the MCC, ECB and ICC, without whom this match would not be taking place.”

All proceeds from the Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge are going towards rebuilding and renovating the five major venues damaged during the hurricanes as well as other community cricket facilities: 

• Ronald Webster Park, Anguilla – damaged in Irma

• Sir Viv Richards Stadium, Antigua – temporarily converted to host refugees from Barbuda following Irma

• Windsor Park Stadium, Dominica – damaged in Maria

• A.O. Shirley Recreation Ground, BVI – damaged in Irma

• Carib Lumber Ball Park, St Maarten – damaged in Irma (PR)

Hurricane Relief T20 Challenge Windies squad: Samuel Badree, Carlos Brathwaite (captain), Rayad Emrit, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Rovman Powell, Denesh Ramdin (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, and Kesrick Williams.