Posted on

Bathsheba take BCL title


Bathsheba take BCL title

Social Share

Bathsheba are the Champion Of Champions of the Barbados Cricket League (BCL).

The St Joseph club defeated Sunrise by ten runs on Sunday to capture the crown they failed to win last year when surrendering to Rendezvous in the final.

Playing in their third successive final, Bathsheba blasted a challenging 235 for six in 28 overs – two overs being deducted from their allotment due to a ten-minute delay at the start.

The Rices, St Philip Sunrise mounted a spirited challenge before falling ten runs short of the target, dismissed for 225 in 27.1 overs.

Elated Bathsheba skipper Anthony Small was lost for words when asked for a comment.

“I’m happy for the team because we were a bit unfortunate due to the conditions last year so I’m just very happy that we came out on top in our second Champion Of Champions final,” he said.

Man Of The Match Jason Nicholls struck an unbeaten 84, including ten sixes and three fours, that propelled Bathsheba to their eventual match-winning total.

After Nicholls lost his opening partner James Morris (20) at 30 for one, he featured in a 94-run partnership with old-stager Ken Mayers who scored 39. Mario Clarke (30) and Damien Murray (26) were the other main contributors in the innings.

Off-spinner Micah Howard was the only bowler with an economy rate below six runs per over, grabbing three wickets for 23 runs while Ian Brathwaite took two for 45.

Former Barbados Youth player Jafari Toppin topscored for Sunrise with a stroke-filled 65, hitting three fours and five sixes that included back to back sixes off Nicholas Nicholls. The right-hander, who represents St Catherine in the Barbados Cricket Association’s Elite competition added 64 with Taahir Bulbilia (29) for the fifth wicket to keep Sunrise in the contest.

This partnership was broken by medium-pacer James Morris when he ripped out Toppin’s middle stump to send chills through the Sunrise camp. After his departure, Winston Blackman removed Steffan Larrier (0) and Bulbilia to drive another nailin the coffin.

Blackman was the most successful bowler for Bathsheba taking three for 30 and James Morris finished with three for 52. (AH)