Posted on

St Michael North West counting begins


St Michael North West counting begins

Social Share

In an election proving to be extremely unusual, counting finally began at approximately a minute past ten for the constituency of St Michael North West.

Counting under normal circumstances commences from 8 p.m. after polling stations closed across Barbados at 6 p.m.

Returning officer Charles Haynes allowed the press to briefly capture an image of all 15 boxes on site indicating that all was above board in the constituency.

From 1976 to 1981 it was represented by Barbados Labour Party attorney Ezra Alleyne followed by Democratic Labour Party Lawson Weekes from 1981 to 1996.

In the bye-election of 1996 economist Clyde Mascoll prevailed on the DLP ticket but lost three years later to former events promoter and CBC Sales Executive Mark Williams running on the BLP ticket when the then Owen Arthur aegis sought a second term from Barbadians.

The current holder since 2008 is Christopher Sinckler, of the ruling DLP who served as Minister of Finance. This is the only constituency with a straight fight between the two major parties, the DLP and the BLP with Neil Rowe on the BLP ticket.

There were 255 833 persons eligible to vote in Barbados for this general election the actual tally remains to be calculated. (IB)