Posted on

Milton Lynch ‘A’ keep title


Milton Lynch ‘A’ keep title

Social Share

MILTON LYNCH “A” withstood the challenge of People’s Cathedral “A” to retain the Barbados Chess Federation’s Primary Inter-School Championship by the narrowest of margins.

In an enthralling battle over the final three rounds of games, Milton Lynch “A” emerged winners by one point in a tense finish to the championship at Harrison College last Saturday.

The Water Street, Christ Church school, comprising Carifta selectee Kimahri Holder, Tequon Pinder, Kevion Perch, Christian Gill, Damani Layne and Nicodi Gibson finished with 49 out of a maximum 60 points to just hold off the People’s Cathedral “A” team of Carifta sub-category medallists Rory Prescod and Hannah Wilson, Joshua Franklin, Kayode Stoute, Anoushka Pitamber and Xavier Francis.

Milton Lynch “A” started the day three points ahead of People’s Cathedral “A” and Wills Primary but the three schools were level after the fourth round of games when the defending champions managed a 7-3 win against Charles F. Broome “A’ at the same time their challengers were registering 10-0 victories against their opposition.

With excitement mounting in the fifth round, Milton Lynch “A” surged ahead by a point with a 10-0 win against People’s Cathedral “B”, while People’s Cathedral “A” dropped a point with a 9-1 win against Wills “A” that ended the latter’s title hopes going into the last round.

Most fans would have favoured People’s Cathedral  “A” to grab the honours given that Milton Lynch “A” were paired against Wills in the last round but the repeat champions rose to the occasion to register an 8-2 win, the same scoreline People’s Cathedral “A” prevailed over 2016 champions Charles F. Broome “A”.

It meant that Milton Lynch “A” held onto to their crown and for good measure, their “B” team, made up of Jayden Feliciano-Edwards, Keshione Norgrove, Devonte Morris, Ethan Scott, Amani Feliciano-Edwards and Ethan Springer capitalised on Wills’ two losses to ease through to take a distant third place with 35 points.

Wills were fourth on 34 points, the same as fifth-placed Lawrence T. Gay and sixth-placed St Gabriel’s “A”, while Charles F. Broome “A” finished seventh
with 31 points, the same as eighth-placed People’s Cathedral “B” and ninth-placed St Cyprian’s Boys’ “A”.

The presentation ceremony for the championship, which attracted 16 teams from eight schools, will be held on June 23. (BCF)