Posted on

Six independent senators sworn in

BARRY ALLEYNE, [email protected]

Six independent senators sworn in

Social Share

Six of the seven independent senators chosen by Governor General Dame Sandra Mason have been sworn in.

They all gave their oaths of allegiance in a brief ceremony at Government House, this morning.

The list was headed by general secretary of the Barbados Workers Union (BWU), Toni Moore, and includes attorneys-at-law Monique Taitt and Kevin John Boyce, Reverend Michael Bruce St John Maxwell, Lindell Elon Nurse, Christopher Maynard and Alphea Margot Wiggins.

Dame Sandra apologised for the absence of Wiggins, saying she was currently in London, England, and would be sworn in immediately upon her return.

The Governor General also said Wiggins would play special interest in the country’s business sector as part of her remit.

This morning’s ceremony was attended by numerous visitors and friends of the six Independent senators. (BA)