Posted on

Temporary senators take Oath of Office before GG


Temporary senators take Oath of Office before GG

Social Share

Two new senators were today sworn in at Government House.

They are Delisle Bradshaw and John Williams who took the Oath of Office before Governor General Dame Sandra Mason.

The two former Ministers of Government will temporarily sit in the Senate as replacements for Senators-designate Rawdon Adams and Kay McConney, who were absent from the May 31 swearing-in ceremony.

Below: Temporary Senator John Williams being sworn in by Governor General Dame Sandra Mason while Clerk of Parliament Pedro Eastmond (partially hidden) and Deputy Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Office, Harriette Sealy look on. To the left is the Governor General’s private secretary, Sandra Watkins. 


Adams’ and  McConney’s absence, as earlier pointed out by Attorney General and Minister of Legal Affairs, Dale Marshall, related to the Barbados’ 1966 Constitution which stipulates that a Senator must be an ordinary resident in the country for 12 consecutive months before being appointed.

Adams is the son of late Prime Minister, Tom Adams, and has been resident in Barbados after relocating here almost 12 months ago, while McConney currently lives in Canada, and would have to resume residence in Barbados.

On Tuesday, June 5, following the official opening of Parliament, Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley took the necessary step towards amending the island’s Constitution to provide for the appointment of both to the Senate.

The Senate is expected to meet for the first time on the Constitutional Amendment tomorrow, Friday, June 8. (BGIS)