Posted on

Tri-Nation hockey starts

EZRA STUART, [email protected]

Tri-Nation hockey starts

Social Share

Barbados will face Guyana in the opening match of the Tri-Nation Women’s International Hockey Series at the Wildey Hockey Turf at 9 a.m.

The second game of the double-header will see Trinidad and Tobago opposing Guyana at 3:45 p.m.

The series, the first accredited international competition in Barbados since the Women’s Pan American Cup in 2004, will provide all three teams with much-needed match preparation ahead of the Central American & Caribbean Games (CAC) Games in Colombia, July 20-29.

The visiting teams should also benefit from getting pitch time on Barbados’ new artificial sand in-fill surface, which is a similar turf to what they are like to experience at the CAC Games in Barranquilla.

“The series will be a good test run before CAC. We are in the fine-tuning phase and this type of preparation will show us where we are and where we need to be to as Colombia approaches,” Barbados’ coach Donovan Smith noted.

First-time Barbados captain Ayanna Wilson said it is a tremendous honour to be leading the side at such a young age.

“I am looking forward to the challenge. I believe this is a good preparation for the CAC Games. Tournaments like this are needed for the growth and development of hockey in Barbados,” the 20-year-old Wilson said.

Wilson, who has 22 international caps, is captaining a squad with a mix of young talent and veteran national players.

The series will continue on Saturday with Barbados playing Guyana at 9 a.m. and Trinidad and Tobago meeting Guyana at 3:45 p.m. before climaxing on Sunday.

In Sunday’s return matches, Barbados will oppose Guyana at 9 a.m. and Trinidad and Tobago at 3:45 p.m.

Barbados squad: Ayanna Wilson (captain), Katrina Downes (vice-captain), Kristina Hinds (goalkeeper), Sheena Nicholls (goalkeeper), Tiffany Browne, Dana Wilson, Aliyah Griffith, Tammisha Small, Tiffany Belle, Kimberley Rock, Miracle-Ann King, Shani Best, Cher King, Keisha Boyce, D’Jamila Edwards, Jada Prescod, Aleina Stanford, Gabriel Williams, Nakisha Downes, Shakeira Sandiford and Amaris Chase.