Posted on

Opposition team covering all bases


Opposition team covering all bases

Social Share

Opposition Leader Bishop Joseph Atherley presented his official Opposition Spokespersons Team earlier today.

He stressed that it was not the launch of a political party, but said that would come in due course.

This new team includes several familiar faces who ran in the 2018 General Election under the Solutions Barbados and United Progressive Party (UPP) banners.

Thirteen members were announced today with three more to be announced at a later date.

The following is the list of team members and the portfolios that they will speak on.

Irwin Belgrave – Home Affairs related matters

Rev. John Carter – Agriculture, food security and maritime economy

Dr Philip Corbin – Energy, water resources, telecommunications

Akil Daley – Youth and small business facilitation

Senator Crystal Drakes – Economic, sustainable development and climate change

Paul Forte – Housing, property ownership works and maintenance

Senator Caswell Franklyn – Labour, social security, corporatives and civil establishments

Paul Gibson – Health, wellness services development and environment

Sylvan Greenidge – Transportation, sanitation and sewage service

Bruce Hennis – Internal business and trade, manufacturing and commerce

Maria Philips – Justice, law enforcement, penal system

Alan Springer – Creative economy and sports industry development

Scott Weatherhead – Tourism, regional and international transport