Posted on

Holder to lead T20 team


Holder to lead T20 team

Social Share

There will be no fireworks from injured West Indies superman Andre Russell in the three-match Sandals Twenty20 Cricket Series against England starting today in St Lucia. 

And in an unusual move, Test and one-day captain Jason Holder, who hasn’t played a T20 International in two years will now lead the West Indies’ Twenty20 side even though regular skipper Carlos Brathwaite is in the 13-member side.

The same players were also selected for the preceding one-day series, meaning the likes of Kieron Pollard, Evin Lewis, Sherfane Rutherford and the recuperating Rovman Powellwill have to be sit out the series.

Consequently, rookie left-arm spinner Khary Pierre, who played in all three T20 Internationals against India in November last year after making his debut, won’t feature. Instead, 33-year-old leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo remains in the squad despite not playing a T20 International since 2015.  (CMC/EZS)


West Indies (from): Jason Holder (captain), Fabian Allen, Devendra Bishoo, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, John Campbell, Sheldon Cottrell, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Ashley Nurse, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas.

England (from): Eoin Morgan (captain), Alex Hales, Sam Billings, Joe Root, Dawid Malan, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Denly, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid, David Willey, Sam Curran, Liam Plunkett.

Match officials:

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite, Nigel Duguid; Television umpire: Leslie Reifer Jr.

Fourth official: Zahid Bassarath; Match referee: Andy Pycroft.

Subscribe now to our eNATION edition for the full story.

For the latest stories and breaking news updates download the Nationnews apps for iOS and Android.