Posted on

CPL changes dates to accommodate India tour


CPL changes dates to accommodate India tour

Social Share

GROS ISLET, St Lucia – The Hero Caribbean Premier League (CPL) and Cricket West Indies (CWI) have agreed to move the tournament window for the 2019 tournament to avoid a clash with the International series against India.

The change was made at the request of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) because the West Indies international players would not be available for the tournament.

Hero CPL will now take place from September 4 to October 12. The full schedule of matches will be released in due course with matches already confirmed for Barbados, Jamaica, St Kitts & Nevis, St Lucia and Trinidad & Tobago.

A media release said moving the tournament provided the best possible chance for all players to take part in the Caribbean Premier League and the series against India. Both Cricket West Indies and Hero CPL said they were committed to this and were working very closely to find a solution.

“The Caribbean Premier League prides itself on being in the very top echelon of T20 tournaments around the world, and for that to happen we need the best players available. We want our fans to be able to watch the best local talent taking part and that is why we are more than happy to be flexible with our dates to make that happen. The Biggest Party in Sport may have been delayed by two weeks, but it is going to be even better as a result,” said Chief Operations Officer Pete Russell.

Chief Executive Officer of CWI, Johnny Grave, said the regional tournament had become of the most exciting and they were looking forward to another successful instalment.

“We are pleased that we have been able to collaborate with CPL to find a spot in our International calendar to ensure that all the best Caribbean cricketers can take part, as the tournament plays a crucial role in our preparations and planning for the T20 World Cup in 2020.”

India will tour the West Indies and United States from July to August. The teams will play three T20 Internationals, three One-Day Internationals and two Test matches. (PR/SAT)