Posted on

World Cup squad unchanged


World Cup squad unchanged

Social Share

West Indies selectors are sticking with their original 15-man squad for the World Cup.

Cricket West Indies on Saturday announced the final squad days before the deadline to submit teams for the showpiece event slated for May 30 to July 14.

Batsman Sunil Ambris and all-rounder Raymon Reifer, however, have been called up as cover for a training camp which starts today in Southampton.

They were part of the just concluded Tri-Nation Series in Ireland. Ambris is available as cover for Evin Lewis, who has recently recovered from a viral illness, and Reifer will cover for the bowling group as part of workload management.

The four-day camp, involving the entire 15-member squad for the marquee tournament, will include an additional warm-up fixture against Australia, which will be played on May 22 at the Ageas Bowl, the home of Hampshire County Cricket Club. (HG/PR)

THE SQUAD: Jason Holder (captain), Chris Gayle (vice-captain), Kemar Roach, Darren Bravo, Andre Russell, Shai Hope, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis, Shannon Gabriel, Carlos Brathwaite, Ashley Nurse, Shimron Hetmyer, Fabian Allen, Oshane Thomas, and Nicholas Pooran.

Reserves: Sunil Ambris, Dwayne Bravo, John Campbell, Jonathan Carter, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich, Keemo Paul, Khary Pierre, Raymon Reifer, and Kieron Pollard.