Posted on

Commission on Governance launched

GERCINE CARTER, [email protected]

Commission on Governance launched

Social Share

GOVERNMENT HAS LAUNCHED The Thorne Commission On Local Governance, a forerunner to the establishment of People Assemblies.

The assemblies were a manifesto promise of the ruling Barbados Labour Party, and Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley explained that yesterday’s media launch of the commission was the first step towards setting up the “community-based, people-participatory, governance structures” designed to give communities more say in the management of their affairs.

The 11-member commission is chaired by Government backbencher Ralph Thorne QC, with CARICOM Ambassador David Comissiong as his deputy.Other members are Richard Carter, Krystle Howell, Jennifer Walker, Adrian Donovan, Sherwood McCaskie, Cheryl Hunte, Peter Skeete, Barney Gibbs and Mohammed Ali Nana.

Speaking at the Lloyd Erskine Sandiford Centre, Thorne said the proposal was for 20 People’s Assemblies to cover the 11 parishes. (GC)

Subscribe now to our eNATION edition for the full story.

For the latest stories and breaking news updates download the Nationnews apps for iOS and Android.