Posted on

De Peiza re-elected

RACHELLE AGARD, [email protected]

De Peiza re-elected

Social Share

Verla De Peiza has retained the presidency of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).

The announcement was made moments ago following voting yesterday at the party’s George Street, St Michael headquarters. 

De Peiza originally faced a challenge by former Minister of Culture Stephen Lashley. However, Lashley withdrew his bid on the eve of elections during the DLP’s 64th Annual General Conference this weekend.

This is the second consecutive election in which Lashley has withdrawn his candidacy for leadership of the party.

Meanwhile, former Senator Irene Sandiford- Garner retained the post of first vice president out of a field of nine candidates. 

Additionally, Simon Alleyne was elected as second vice president, Andre Worrell as third vice president and Nicholas Alleyne as fourth vice president. 

Guyson Mayers retained the position of general secretary after George Pilgrim pulled out, leaving former Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite who was unsuccessful in his bid for the position.

Pedro Shepherd won the bid for assistant general secretary, and Henderson Williams will serve as treasurer. 

Members of the General Council include Hartley Reid, Patrick Gollop, Sylvia Alleyne, Sandra Estwick, Clyde Chase and Cleeton Coppin. (RA)