Posted on

54 set for cricket series

54 set for cricket series
West Indies batsman Shai Hope. (WICB Media)

Social Share

Out-of-favour West Indies trio Shai Hope, Ashley Nurse and Jomel Warrican are among 54 players selected in three squads who will feature in a six-match 50-over cricket series bowling off next Monday at Kensington Oval.

The Barbados Cricket Association (BCA), in a press release said the series, which will be played over the next two weeks ending on December 22, will form part of the Barbados Pride’s preparation for next year’s regional season.

The BCA said Cricket West Indies (CWI) has communicated its intention to begin the regional season in January/February with the CG Insurance Super50 Cup.

Fifteen players have been named in both the Barbados Pride Select 1 and the Barbados Pride Select 2 which includes two other ex-West IndAies players in fast bowler Miguel Cummins and Kyle Hope.

The Everton Weekes Centre of Excellence Team has a whopping 24 players, including the experienced Kyle Corbin.

There are several noticeable omissions such as Spartan’s captain Chad Williams, Wildey’s Craig St Hill, Pius Emilien and Jerome Jones; UWI’s Romario Greaves, YMPC’s Kemar Jabarry Smith, Nkosi Ross and Raymond Kellman, and Gladiola’s Michael Agard and Javon Searles.

St Catherine’s Neil Browne, Darnell Greenidge, Mikhail Austin and Dario Cumberbatch, Police’s all-rounder Ravendra Persaud, Yorkshire’s Athelbert Brathwaite and Carlton’s captain Matthew Jones were also excluded.

There was also no room for Barbados Youth quartet of Rivaldo Clarke, Kevin Wickham, Shaqkere Parris and Hakeem Perryman.

The six matches are slated for December 7, 10, 12, 15, 18 and 22 and will begin at 9:30 a.m. (EZS)


Barbados Pride Select 1: Anthony Alleyne, Joshua Bishop, Leniko Boucher, Shavon Brooks, Jonathan Drakes, Keon Harding, Chaim Holder, Shai Hope, Nicholas Kirton, Carlos Maynard, Jair McCallister, Zachary McCaskie, Roshon Primus, Jomel Warrican, Nyeem Young.

Coaches: Vasbert Drakes, Emmerson Trotman.

Barbados Pride Select 2: Rashidi Boucher, Camarie Boyce, Shian Brathwaite, Jamaine Bullen, Jonathan Carter, Miguel Cummins, Dominic Drakes, Joshua Drakes, Justin Greaves, Kyle Hope, Akeem Jordan, Ashley Nurse, Shamar Springer, Jameel Stuart, Tevyn Walcott.

Coaches: Corey Collymore, Sulieman Benn.

Everton Weekes Centre Of Excellence ‘A’ Team: Kadeem Alleyne, Shakeem Blades, Keemar Burrowes, Hans Campbell, Zidane Clarke, Deswin Currency, Jaden Edmund, Matthew Forde, Tauron Gibson, Damario Goodman, Jarion Hoyte, Jadan Jones, Javed Leacock, Mekhail Marshall, Shakkae Marshall, Antonio Morris, Indal Persaud, Ramon Simmonds, Shem Watson, Marlon Welcome-Goodman, Ryshon Williams, Rashawn Worrell, Teriq Worrell, Kyle Corbin.

Coaches: Ryan Hinds, Dexter Toppin

Manager – Wendell Coppin