Posted on

Babb, Hope new chairs of NCF board

Babb, Hope new chairs of NCF board
Dr Jasmine Babb and Sheldon Hope. (GP)

Social Share

Dr Jasmine Babb is the new chairperson of the Board of the National Cultural Foundation (NCF) and Sheldon Hope is the deputy chairman.

Babb is a regional Human Resources and Industrial Relations Specialist with more than 20 years’ experience and is currently the Director of Human Resources with Ernst & Young Caribbean (EY).

She is a former U.K. Commonwealth Scholar and holds a Doctorate in Social Sciences specialising in Industrial Relations. Along with being a part-time lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, in the Management Studies Department, Babb is also the Deputy Chair of the International Labor Organisation (ILO) committee, which advises the Government of Barbados on ILO labour conventions.

Hope is a teacher and has a long association with the NCF. A former calypsonian, he also served as a Crop Over judge and producer of the Crop Over Gospel Concert. He holds a Bachelor’s Degree in Music Education and Performance from Berklee College of Music.

Amanda Haynes is the newest member of the Board.

Haynes is a values-driven executive and creative writer with expertise in cultural policy. She holds a B.A. (First Class Honours), Literatures in English, University of the West Indies, Barbados and a Master’s (Distinction) International Cultural Policy & Management, University of Warwick, U.K.

An alum of the 2019 Cropper Foundation Caribbean Writers Residency, her novella “The Ups & Downs of Dessa Darling” received a special mention at the Frank Collymore Literary Endowment in 2017/18.

The other members of the Board are Permanent Secretary Jehu Wiltshire, Nina Clarke, Aisha Comissiong, Alissandra Cummins, Muriel Robertson, Campbell Rudder, Varia Williams and Algernon Yearwood.

The Board of the NCF is responsible for the policy and general administration of the Foundation. (PR/SAT)