Posted on

13 cricket umpires retained

13 cricket umpires retained
Bajan umpire Gregory Brathwaite made his Test debut in the middle in next month’s home series against Sri Lanka. (GP)

Social Share

ST JOHN’S, Antigua – All 13 members of the existing Senior Panel of Umpires were offered annual retainer contracts for the period April 1, 2021 to March 31, 2022 in spite of the  significant reduction in regional cricket in the last contracting period, due to the impact of COVID-19.

Cricket West Indies (CWI) invests annually in the panel of umpires due to their fundamental role in ensuring that the spirit and integrity of cricket is preserved, and that the highest possible quality fair play is upheld on the field.  Investing in a broader pool of umpires who can be rewarded for their hard work and application in developing their skills is vital for the health of cricket at all levels.

CWI’s Director of Cricket Jimmy Adams said, “I am pleased that even in the midst of our financial constraints, CWI will be re-engaging our senior panel of umpires as we recognize and appreciate their important role within the game. We all hope that there will be increasing amounts of cricket within the region in the months ahead to allow our best umpires to continue their ongoing development.”

During the recent International Home Series between West Indies and Sri Lanka, all match officials were of Caribbean origin, due to the ICC temporarily permitting the appointment of locally-based match officials from the Emirates Elite Panel of Match Officials and the Emirates ICC International Panel of Match Officials.

This was due to the logistics challenges caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. One very positive outcome was for Barbadian and West Indies Umpire, Gregory Brathwaite, officiated in his first Test Match.

The Senior Panel of Umpires being offered retainer contracts: CWI’s Senior Panel of Umpires 2021/22: Zahid Bassarath, Johnathan Blades, Gregory Brathwaite, Deighton Butler, Nigel Duguid, Patrick Gustard, Danesh Ramdhanie, Leslie Reifer, Verdayne Smith, Christopher Taylor, Carl Tuckett, Jacqueline Williams and Christopher Wright. (PR/SAT)