Posted on

Committee to manage transition to Republic

Committee to manage transition to Republic
Government Headquarters. (FILE)

Social Share

Cabinet today announced the establishment of a Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee (RSTAC) to help plan and manage the transition of Barbados from a monarchial to a republican system.

Members of the Committee are Dr Marion Williams GCM (Chair), Reverend Dr John Rogers, Lolita Applewaithe, Chereda Grannum, Suleiman Bulbulia, The Most Honourable Patrick Frost, Shirley Bell, Cyndi Marshall, Adrian Green and Cecille Humphrey.

Acting Cabinet Secretary, Hughland Allman will be responsible for servicing the committee.

A press release from the Barbados Government Information Service stated that Barbados had two previous constitutional review commissions in 1977 and 1994, headed by Sir Mencea Cox and Sir Henry Forde, respectively. Sir Henry Forde’s Commission recommended the manner in which the country should settle all of the arrangements for the President.

Guided by this, the new RSTAC committee will be required to discuss rights, responsibilities and aspirations and to specifically include the youth and the diaspora. Over the next few weeks, the public will be given an opportunity to send their ideas to the Committee and to attend its public meetings. (CM/PR)