Posted on

Latapy shores up attack for Gold Cup

Nick Maitland

Latapy shores up attack for Gold Cup
Several changes were made to the Barbados Tridents squad that represented the island in the Concacaf FIFA World Cup qualifiers. (FILE)

Social Share

Barbados Tridents’ head coach Russell Latapy named a strong attacking unit ahead of the team’s crucial opening Concacaf Gold Cup qualifier against Bermuda in Fort Lauderdale on Friday.

Latapy picked nine attacking players in his 24-man squad which will depart the island on Sunday and Monday. He acknowledged that due to the knockout format of the qualifiers, the job of the team, now more than ever, is to score goals and work hard to conquer their opponents.

Included in the squad is captain Rashad Jules, who returns after missing the last tour to the Dominican Republic due to injury. He will certainly add to the selection dilemma that awaits the coaching staff with overseas professionals Nick Blackman, Ryan Trotman, Hallam Hope, Curtis Hutson and proven goal scorer Emile Saimovici, all set to compete for a starting place in the attacking department.

Trotman’s FC Den Bosch teammate Dwayne Green is in line for a possible senior international debut after also making the cut. Latapy also provided a positive update on striker Hallam Hope and centre back Krystian Pearce who will join up with the squad in the United States.

Frustrated Paradise attacker Armando Lashley once again misses out after sustaining an injury in senior team training last week. Defenders Najee Holder, Ricardio Morris and midfielder Jamol Williams also miss out on selection as well as teenagers Roshon Gittens and Thierry Gale.

The Tridents will oppose Bermuda on July 2 at the DRV PNK Stadium in Fort Lauderdale at 7 pm.

If successful, the Tridents will then clash with the winner of St Vincent and the Grenadines’ qualifier against Haiti.

Senior Men’s National Football Team: 

Goalkeepers: Kishmar Primus, Liam Brathwaite, Nashton Browne

Defenders: Carl Hinkson, Rashad Smith, Mario Williams, Akeem Hill, Krystian Pearce, Andre Applewhaite, Dwayne Green

Midfielders: Jomo Harris, Akeel Applewhaite, Hadan Holligan, Omani Leacock, Niall Reid-Stephen

Forwards: Ryan Trotman, Nick Blackman, Hallam Hope, Curtis Hutson, Tajio James, Emile Saimovici, Antone Greaves, Rashad Jules.


Head Coach: Russell Latapy

Assistant Coaches: Fitzgerald Carter, Kenville Layne

Goalkeeper Coach: Richard Bynoe

Physiotherapist: Dr Nicola Yard

Trainer: Dennis Callender

Equipment Manager: Patrick Mapp

Team Manager: Cadijah Mars (NM)