Posted on

Australia win the toss and fielding vs West Indies


Australia win the toss and fielding vs West Indies
TV presenter Mark Nicholas with Australia captain Aaron Finch, West Indies captain Kieron Pollard and match referee Javagal Srinath at the toss - CWI Media picture

Social Share

Abu Dhabi – West Indies will be batting, after Australia won the toss and chose to field in their ICC Men’s Twenty20 World Cup on Saturdayday at the Sheikh Zayed Cricket Stadium.

There is only one change for the Windies, with leg-spinner Hayden Walsh Jr replacing pacer Ravi Rampaul, but Australia are unchanged.

West Indies are out contention for a place in the semi-finals, but there is still plenty riding on this match for them because they need to win improve their World ranking and earn straight qualification for next year’s T20 World Cup in Australia.

The Australians require a win to fortify their chances of reaching the semi-finals of this tournament, although it will not be official until the outcome of the match between England and South Africa later Saturday.


West Indies: Kieron Pollard (captain), Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Roston Chase, Shimron Hetmyer, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Andre Russell, Jason Holder, Dwayne Bravo, Akeal Hosein, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, Matthew Wade (wicketkeeper), Patrick Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Umpires: Richard Illingworth (England), Langton Rusere (Zimbabwe).

TV umpire: Aleem Dar (Pakistan).

Match referee: Javagal Srinath (India).

Reserve umpire: Adrian Holdstock (South Africa).